Next Election

APC Candidate, Godwin Obaseki, Declared Winner of Edo Governorship Election
The candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki, in the Wednesday, 28, September, 2016 governorship election held in Edo state, has been declared winner by the Returning Officer, Professor Kayode Soremekun, having polled a total of 319,483 votes to defeat 18 other candidates.
Godwin Obaseki was followed by the Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Ize-Iyamu Osagie Andrew, who polled a total of 253,173 votes.
Declaring the result, Professor Soremekun, said that: “Godwin Obaseki, having fulfilled the requirements of the law and got the highest votes is the winner and is returned elected”.
The state has a total of 1,900,223 registered voters, and 622,039 were accredited for the election while a total of 613,244 votes were casted. A total of 582,299 votes were valid and 30,945 votes were rejected across the eighteen (18) Local Government Areas in the state.

Copyright © 2022 INEC

Connect with INEC

Enter your details below. All Fields are required.